Why do we fight it??

Over the last month, as I’ve been part of planning for our church’s women’s retreat, I’ve been drawn back again and again to the realization that my soul CRAVES a quiet time with God.  And why not?  In His word, He invites us to this quiet time.

Be still and know that I am God.—-Psalm 46:10

He will take great delight in you.  The quietness of his love will calm you down.   He will sing with joy because of you.”  Zephaniah 3:17b (NIRV, our retreat’s theme verse)

Then, because so many people were coming and going that they did not even have a chance to eat, he (Jesus) said to them, “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.“  — Mark 6:31

So what keeps us (okay, what keeps ME) from enjoying this time, from receiving the gift of God singing over me with joy, receiving the experience of His delight?  I still don’t know the whole picture, but I do have a few pieces.  I know first and foremost, that we have an Enemy who knows and fears the consequences of the transformation work this quiet time will have in my spirits, so he distracts me, condemns me as “lazy,” reminds me of “important” things I need to be doing….on and on.  But I don’t have to listen to this.  I think there are other issues to deal with.  Pride.  Fear.  Wanting “my” way more than His.  Not choosing the discipline of going to bed on time so I can awake while the house is still quiet (the most POWERFUL time, I’ve found).  Believing the lie that what I do equals my worth.  Sitting quietly isn’t accomplishing anything visible or measurable, at least at first.  I’ll be chewing on this idea for awhile.  I welcome your thoughts, too, if you want to share! 

 

 
Leave a Reply

